Skip to the main content of this page.

miami university
Department of English
rotating images of books

Contact Us

356 Bachelor Hall
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056
fax: 513.529.1392

This page last updated on
October 16, 2013


Miami University Press

books by the miami university press In 2004 (under the leadership of editor Keith Tuma) the Miami University Press entered a new era, marked by the introduction of a new fiction series, beginning with Marianne Villanueva’s collection of short stories, Mayor of the Roses.

Beginning in 1992, Miami University Press brought out two books of poems each year by poets who had already had at least one full-length collection of poetry published. The series has featured such mid-career poets as Ralph Angel, whose Neither World won the 1995 James Laughlin Award of The Academy of American Poets. Hugh Seidman’s Selected Poems: 1965-1995 won a 1995 Critics’ Choice Award and was chosen as one of the Village Voice’s ‘25 Favorite Books of 1995.’

The Press continued its publication of fine poetry in 2005 with a volume of poems by a range of established and newer African American writers titled Rainbow Darkness: An Anthology of African American Poetry. Rainbow Darkness grew from poems and talks presented at the Marjorie Cook Conference on Diversity in African American Poetry held at Miami University in September 2003. The anthology hopes to extend the conversations that took place at the conference to another, larger audience.

For more information about Miami University Press, as well as links to their catalogue, please vist their website: